It’s all about people…
est. 1988


South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA)

The SAQA’s primary objective is the promotion of a high quality education and training system in South Africa that embraces the concept of lifelong learning for all. In order to realise this objective, SAQA has established and maintains the following:

  • a system for setting nationally recognised and internationally comparable education and training standards and qualifications from NQF Level 1 (Grade 9 or Adult Basic Education and Training Level 4 – the exit point from General Education and Training) to NQF Level 8 (post-graduate qualifications)
  • a national quality assurance system to ensure that education and training is delivered to the set standards
  • an electronic management information system which records all relevant information on the achievements of South African learners (the National Learners’ Records Database).

For more information about SAQA, click here.

National Qualifications Framework (NQF)

In 2008 the National Qualifications Framework (NQF) Act No 67 replaced the South African Qualifications Authority Act No 58 of 1995. The NQF is a framework as it sets the boundaries, principle and guidelines on a national basis in order to integrate education and training into a unified structure of recognised qualifications. All education and training in South Africa fits within this framework. The NQF is therefore a set of principles and guidelines by which records of learner achievements are registered to enable national recognition of acquired skills and knowledge, thereby ensuring an integrated system that encourages lifelong learning.

There are three groups or classification bands making up the NQF:

  • GET: General Education and Training
    • Adult Basic Education and Training (AET)
    • Compulsory Schooling up to Grade 10
  • FET: Further Education and Training
  • HET: Higher Education and Training

 For more information about NQF, click here.

Sector Eduction and Training Authority (SETA)

The Skills Development Act, Act 97 of 1998, was enacted to improve the working skills of South Africans so that the economy can grow and all South Africans can live a better life. The Act changes the old way of vocational training by introducing learnerships and skills programmes through Sector Education and Training Authorities (SETAs). It is the responsibility of the SETA to ensure that all training within the industry is in-line with the requirements laid down by the industry leaders and, as a result all training institutions are required to register and accredit all their formal training courses and qualifications.

The Safety and Security Sector Education and Training Authority (SASSETA) was formed as a result of the Police, Private Security, Legal, Correctional Service and Justice Sector Education and Training Authority (POSLEC) and the Diplomacy, Intelligence, Defence & Trade Education and Training Authority (DIDTETA) merging. It was established to promote a culture of ongoing learning, which facilitates opportunities of skills transfer and development for all South Africans in the safety and security sector seeking recognised industry qualifications.

Find us

Suite 10,
15 The Boulevard,
Westway Office Park,

GPS Co-ordinates: -29.848526, 30.926383